Baltic Brown Granite Goes to the Big World

New extraction methods improve quality and increase efficiency

Palin Granit’s granite quarry in Ylämaa, Finland is an amazing sight to see. The smooth, sparkling boulders of Baltic Brown granite are lined up, the drillrig drills new blocks for removal, and the diamond wire cutting machine works it into smaller parts. A customer from Italy ambles between the rocks, selecting the right choice.

From the start, Palin Granit has been a family-run, Loimaa-based Finnish company. Its story begins in 1921, when the itinerant stonemason Antti Palin established a stoneworks facility in the town. The crude stone was transported to the stoneworks facility by train and horse carriage, and was formed by hand into cemetery headstones by Antti Palin. The company's current domicile is Lappeenranta, and Heikki, its CEO, represents the third generation of Palins. A great deal has occurred in almost a hundred years: machines have replaced the work by hand, and Palin Granit’s business operations have changed from that of a stone refinery to raw stone production. The largest export nation is China with a 60% share, followed by Italy, Spain and Egypt. Finland's share is also increasing.

Palin Granite in Finland

The demand for Finnish granite has declined from its peak years, but the belief in stone as a raw material on the part of fourth-generation representative, Business Developer Kira Palin, is solid. "Stone is an ecological material with a perpetual lifecycle and minimal maintenance requirement," Kira emphasises. Baltic Brown, which is mined in Ylämaa, usually goes to large projects, such as skyscrapers, facades and indoor spaces. The sector is heavily cyclical and dependent on cycles and trends; and recently, ceramics and artificial stone, for example, have taken the place of real stone. As a producer of raw material, Palin Granit does not always have information on where the end products finally go, and a familiar type of stone may, surprisingly enough, be occasionally encountered in, for instance, the floor of a building in Shanghai.

The sales and marketing of granite is the responsibility of Lundhs AS, a Norwegian family company with whom Palin Granit signed a cooperation agreement in 2014. As a result of the cooperation agreement, Lundhs also became one of Palin Granit's owners. The companies together represent the largest excavator of utility stone in Northern Europe.

Stone is a natural material, and its character includes the element of surprise. Only intact blocks are valid for export, and because of the fragmentation of the stone, its efficiency is low: the goal is that 20% of the stone can be utilised. Attempts are being made with waste rock to develop its practical use in, for example, the form of crushed rock, or larger chunks for embankments or surrounding walls.

It has been possible to raise the efficiency of stone production acceptable for processing by developing methods for the purpose. In 2014, Norwegian partner Lundhs introduced Palin Granit to diamond wire cutting and slot drilling, formerly used, has now been completely replaced by cutting, which has brought many benefits. "In addition to better quality, cutting is cheaper and faster, less dust is generated, and there are savings in the costs of explosives," Pauli Salmela, Technical Director, says, listing the benefits of cutting. Mr Salmela anticipates that the amount of cutting will increase all the time, and new operations are being planned that could be replaced by cutting.

SpeedCUT 75 at Palin Granite in Finland

Their first diamond wire cutting machines were the Italian Pellegrini brand, but in 2016 the brand was changed to Epiroc (Atlas Copco). The change of brand was decided by Epiroc’s close-at-hand maintenance, even if diamond wire cutting machines are relatively service-free. At the moment, there are two Epiroc SpeedCut machines in use which can cut both vertically and horizontally.

In June of this year, the Epiroc SpeedROC D30 drill rig was introduced. SpeedROC is used to drill vertical and horizontal pilot holes for SpeedCut, and it is designed to increase the use of cutting also at new work stages. The horizontal holes to be drilled are 30 metres long, which corresponds to a dimension of four granite blocks and a diameter of 72 mm.

The work methods have been revised over the last few years, and according to Pauli Salmela, this development certainly has not ended. "After a few years, the methods will surely be different again," Mr Salmela forecasts.

SpeedROC D30 Finland 2018 Customer story SpeedCut 75 Surface and Exploration Drilling division

Epiroc operated under the trademark “Atlas Copco” prior to January 1, 2018.

啡钻花岗岩走向全球市场

2018年11月06日

新的开采方法使质量和效率都得到提高

在 Palin Granit 公司位于芬兰 Ylämaa 的花岗岩采石场,您会看到一片令人震撼场景。表面光滑又闪闪发光的啡钻花岗岩巨石整整齐齐地排列在一起,钻机不断采出新的岩块并等待搬运,一边的金刚石绳锯正将这些大块的花岗岩锯切成小块。一位来自意大利的买家在这些花岗岩之间仔细地挑选着自己称心的石材。
Palin Granit 公司最开始是一家设立于 Loimaa 的芬兰家族企业。它的故事开始于 1921年,当时四处谋生的石匠 Antti Palin 在这座小镇上开设了一家石材加工厂。人们用火车和马车将原石运送到这家石材加工厂,然后由 Antti Palin 手工制作成墓碑。这家公司目前的注册地是在拉彭兰塔,公司的首席执行官 Heikki 则是 Palin 家族的第三代传人。经历近一百年的风云变幻,Palin Granit 公司逐渐使用机器取代了手工,而公司的业务也从石料加工变成了原石开采。中国是该公司最重要的出口国(占 60%),其次是意大利、西班牙和埃及。芬兰的份额也在不断地增加。

全球花岗岩市场

尽管与最火热的年份相比,芬兰花岗岩的需求量已有所下降,但作为该家族第四代传人的代表,业务拓展经理 Kira Palin 却始终对石材这种原材料充满信心。“石材是一种生态材料,它拥有无尽的使用寿命,而且维护需求极低”,Kira 强调说。Ylämaa 采石场采出的啡钻花岗岩一般用于大型项目,比如摩天大楼、幕墙以及室内装修等。该行业周期性很强,而且受周期性和潮流的影响较大;举例来说,最近几年,陶瓷和人造石已经取代了天然石材的地位。作为一家原材料生产商,Palin Granit 无法时时了解自己的石材最终流向何处,所以有时就会碰到一些奇遇:比如发现上海某栋大楼的地板竟然采用了自己公司的石材。

Palin Granit 的花岗岩销售和营销业务由挪威家族企业 Lundhs AS 负责。两家公司于 2014 年签订了一项合作协议。根据该合作协议,Lundhs 成为了 Palin Granit 公司的一家股东。这两家公司合在一起,成为了北欧地区规模最大的实用石材挖掘商。

石材是一种具有多种神奇特质的天然材料。只有完好无缺的石块才能出口;由于石材易碎,其开采效率很低。作为目标,在开采的石材中,能够使用的石材所占比例仅为 20%。人们正在尝试开发和利用废石的实际用途,例如,将碎岩或更大块的岩石用于路堤或围墙修筑。

钻石锯切取代 Railo 钻孔工艺

通过开发专门的方法,现在已经可以将石材开采效率提高到加工环节可接受的水平。2014 年,挪威合作伙伴 Lundhs 公司将金刚石绳锯介绍给了 Palin Granit 公司。几年过去后,该公司先前所使用的深孔钻开采方法现已完全被锯切方法所取代,新的方法带来了许多好处。“除了质量得到提高之外,锯切方法更加经济、速度更快,产生的粉尘也更少,而且还有助于节省爆破成本”,技术总监 Pauli Salmela 罗列出了锯切的种种好处。Salmela 先生预计,锯切量还将一直增长,目前该公司正在计划开展多项可使用锯切作为替代方法的作业项目。
该公司的第一台金刚石绳锯是意大利 Pellegrini 品牌,但在 2016 年,Palin Granit 开始改为采用安百拓(阿特拉斯·科普柯)的产品。该公司之所以做此决定,看中的就是安百拓能够提供近距离维护服务 - 尽管金刚石绳锯的保养需求较低。Palin Granit 正在使用两种安百拓 SpeedCut 金刚石绳锯,这两款产品均可进行垂直和水平切割。

今年 6 月,安百拓推出了 Epiroc SpeedROC D30 钻机。SpeedROC 用于为 SpeedCut 钻取垂直和水平导孔,此外,该钻机还用于在新作业阶段增加对锯割的使用。它可钻取 30 米长的水平孔,这相当于四块花岗岩砌块的尺寸,孔径为 72 mm。

在过去几年里,作业方法历经改进,Pauli Salmela 认为这种改进必然还会一直持续下去。“再过几年,肯定又会出现新型作业方法”,Salmela 先生预测说。

芬兰 SpeedCut 75 露天凿岩与勘探设备部 SpeedROC D30 客户案例 2018年

2018 年 1 月 1 日之前,安百拓使用商标“阿特拉斯·科普柯”开展经营。